New instruments

The focal point of my workshop is the making of new instruments, both baroque and modern. Every piece of wood is unique and demands patience and experience in its transformation from raw wood to a resounding instrument. This challenge is the drive of my work and excites and fascinates me time and time again.

The most rewarding part of my job is hearing one of my instruments being played in a concert, and knowing that a musician has found an instrument that they enjoy working with and can get the most rewarding results from. The appreciation of my work is shown by the use of my instruments by musicians in Europe (Amsterdam, Berlin, Brussels) and Australasia (Auckland, Wellington, Sydney).

If you are looking for an instrument of a high standard you are welcome to contact me for advice, without any obligation. One of my instruments may be available to try, or I can make one to order. In the latter case there are many possibilities to work closely with the musician (choice of wood, new or antiqued varnish, special requirements for measurements etc).

Selection of musicians who own my instruments:

Baroque violin: University of Auckland (Auckland), Massey University (Wellington), Miranda Hutton (Auckland), Marrie Mooij (Brussels), Catherine Polglase (Hamilton), Hans van Haarst (The Hague) Baroque viola: Miranda Hutton (Auckland) Modern violin: Lena Brümmer (Berlin), Christine Polglase (Hamilton), Cath Mayo (Auckland) Cello/ Baroque Cello: Danielle van Hemert (Zwolle), Polly Sussex (Auckland)


Ensembles and musicians who have used my instruments (selection):

Piccolo violin: De Swaen (Amsterdam), Stephen Freeman (Amsterdam), Margreet van der Heyden (Amsterdam), Tuomo Sumi (The Hague/ London), Miranda Hutton (Auckland), Makoto Akatsu (The Hague) Baroque violin: The New Dutch Academy (The Hague), AK Barok (Auckland), Pinchgut Opera (Sydney), Ironwood (Sydney), Age of Discovery (Auckland) Baroque viola: The Wallfish Band (New Zealand tour 2010), Pavlo Beznosiuk (London), Restoration Company (The Netherlands), Claire Fahy (The Hague), Deirdre Dowling (Paris/ The Hague), Stephen Freeman (Amsterdam), Makoto Akatsu (The Hague), Iselta Allison (Auckland)